FIG General Assembly

Engagement Committee

FIG General Assembly 2021 adopted the proposal from FIG Council based on a suggestion from the Task Force on FIG Governance to install an Engagement Committee on a trial basis until 2025.

The committee will assist in promoting the search for the next President and two Vice Presidents (to be elected in 2022) and to help search for new Commission Chairs for the following term (2027-2030) that should be elected in 2024 or 2025.

The aim of the engagement committee is to:

More specific, the tasks of the committee members is to:

It is important to note that the engagement committee does not make any valuation or selection of interested candidates, the aim of the committee is purely to create interest and to motivate members and individuals to step forward and to provide information about the posts.

If you have an interest in running for a position you are welcome to contact one or more of the members of the committee to get further information. You are also always welcome to contact Louise Friis-Hansen at the FIG Office.

Members of the Engagement Committee

Chryssy Potsiou, Greece
Honorary President
John Hohol, USA
President FIG Foundation and Honorary Member
Angela Etuonovbe, Nigeria
Former Commission Chair
Volker Schwieger, Germany
Peer Review Chief Editor and Former Commission Chair
Rob Sarib, Australia
Network Chair

The members have been appointed by FIG Council for the trial period 2021-2025.

More information


©2023 FIG